top of page

Physcon 2016: Society of Physics Students Quadrennial Congress

What a wonderful opportunity this was! I heard amazing plenary speakers like Jocelyn Bell Burnell, the discoverer of Pulsars; Eric Cornell, a Nobel Prize winner; and Patrick Brady, scientific collaborator of Gravitational Wave Astronomy. I attended workshops on how to get your local SPS chapter active and I spoke with several outreach coordinators about making demos for our local Physics department and Physics Club. I spoke with scientists and professors from all over the country and made connections with future scientists. We discussed grad school, applying for industry jobs, internships, and research. I will be presenting a brief PowerPoint of my experience at our next Physics Club meeting, there I will also share the informational pamphlets and swag with the rest of the club. Historically, this congress was only held every four years, we've changed that. The next meeting will be in three years, then only two after that they will host the centennial congress. I feel so fortunate to have been given the opportunity to attend such a valuable meeting and enthusiastically encourage future students to attend. Thank you so much.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page